Media release – SACU members sign mutual recognition arrangement

May 31, 2023 | Uncategorised

31 May 2023 – Accredited traders in Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Namibia and South Africa will benefit from lower trade costs and quicker turn-around times for imports and exports, because of a Mutual Recognition Arrangement signed today by the five Member States of the Southern African Customs Union (SACU).

The Heads of Revenue Administrations in Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Namibia and South Africa, have agreed to recognise each other’s importers and exporters who have been granted the status of an Authorised Economic Operator (AEO).

Traders who are AEOs across the SACU region will benefit from fast-tracked controls and reduced administration costs for customs clearance.

Read the full Media Release

Have A Question?

Click here to view our FAQ to find the answers to frequently asked questions.

Want To Know More About Us?

Click here to view our About Us page to get to know more about us and our service offerings.

Want To Know The Latest News?

Click here to visit our news page to read about the latest from SARS, the Department of Labour and SAIT.